Khaite’s Katherine Holstein Wins CFDA Womenswear Designer of the Year Again – WWD

Khaite’s Katherine Holstein Wins CFDA Womenswear Designer of the Year Again – WWD

Khaite’s Katherine Holstein once again won American Womenswear Designer of the Year at the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards, presented by Amazon Fashion, on Monday night.

Holstein, who also won the award in 2022, competed with Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Christopher John Rogers, Raul Lopez for the Loire, and Tory Burch.

Known for its sensual, feminine and distinct urban style, the founder, designer and creative director of Khaite started her ready-to-wear company in 2016.

Willie Chavarria was named American Menswear Designer of the Year, beating out nominees Mike Amery for Amery, Colm Dylan for KidSuper, Teddy Von Ranson for Teddy Von Ranson, and Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York.

Chavarria, who launched his own label in 2015, is known for his fine tailoring combined with his distinctive flair, color and youthful energy.

Willy Chavarria

Willy Chavarria

Rebecca Smeen/WWD

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for “The Row” were named American Accessories Designer of the Year for the fourth time, beating out Anna Khouri, Brandon Blackwood, Stuart Vevers for “Coach” and Raul Lopez for “Luar.”

Mary-Kate Olsen (left) and Ashley Olsen attend the 2007 CFDA Fashion Awards at the New York Public Library.  (Photo by Fairchild Archives/Penske Media via Getty Images)

Mary-Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen from The Row.

Penske Media via Getty Images

The Olsens’ The Row brand, which won Accessories Designer of the Year in 2014, 2018 and 2019, is known for its luxurious simplicity.

Rachel Scott of Diotima was named Store with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year, beating out nominees Bach Mai, Connor McKnight, Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell for Tanner Fletcher, and Carly Mark for Puppets and Puppets.

Jamaican-born Diotima, who took second place in the CFDA Vogue Fashion Fund and was an LVMH Award finalist, founded her own artisanal luxury clothing line in 2021. She sells to stores such as Bergdorf Goodman, Moda Operandi and McMullen, among others.

Rachel Scott

Rachel Scott for Diotima.

Dominique Maitre for WWD

Throughout the evening, Serena Williams was honored as a fashion icon; Vera Wang, who received a board honor; Domenico De Sole, who won the Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert; Maria Cornejo, who received the Jeffrey Binney Lifetime Achievement Award; Alina Chu, who received the Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Shepard; Mara Hoffman, who received the Environmental Sustainability Award; Jonathan Anderson of JW Anderson and Loewe, who was named Global Designer of the Year, and Gwyneth Paltrow of Goop, who received the Innovation Award.

The awards ceremony, hosted by Anne Hathaway, was held at the American Museum of Natural History in New York, with a host of presenters in attendance, including Laura Linney, Demi Moore, Mary J. Blige and Naomi Watts.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *